Grandma’s Chicken & Cornbread Dressing


IMG_2956

I baked Hen (chicken)

6 cups cornbread ; crumbled

2 cups, biscuits, crumbled

1 cup chopped celery

1 lg. med onion chopped

2 eggs,boiled and chopped

Sage to taste I use 2 to 3 tbsp. (we like sage. I also use fresh sage chopped)

Add chopped onion and chopped celery into a saucepan with chicken broth, cover to 1 inch above.

When they  are just tender add all to the bread mix, add salt and pepper to taste

Add in chopped boiled eggs and mix well. (Fun Part !! ) taste to see if need more  seasoning.

Now it is ready to bake. Since everything is already cooked. you will just bake 350 until browned

NOTE:   If you are not sure if you like sage go slow about adding. Do the taste test. I always let the family get a spoon and taste for me. You will know by their  reactions if you got it going the right way.

This is what I grew up with and how I have always made it. We like to make the giblet gravy to go with ours. My family always served strawberry Jell-O fruit salad with theirs, with diced apples,bananas, oranges, cherries and oh my ! so yummy. Oh to rewind and sit down at one of my grandmothers table once again. No body cooks like grandma. I also make my turkey dressing same way.

Leave a Reply

