Delcious White Bean Soup


IMG_3464

I found this recipe on FaceBook The other day and thought it looked quite good,so I read the recipe and I like to keep things simple and easy. I have cooked the good old fashion way for many years, but in my more mature days I like to keep it simple and for the most part I have several followers that are learning to cook and I think if you are learning start simple and get comfortable with food handling and adding flavor. That will get one comfortable and all comes much easier and if you work you really don’t want to come home and be in the kitchen all night. This is a recipe you could throw it all in the crock pot and cook if you wanted to. But I wanted to build some good flavors while it cooked. So here is my recipe The ingredients are basically the same, but cooking is different.

Recipe:

1/2 slice country ham or a ham hock if you prefer

1 pound dried white beans

3/4 cup chopped carrots

3/4 cup chopped celery

3/4 cup chopped onions

1/2 tsp. thyme

1 clove   garlic or more if you like or add garlic powder (All optional)

salt and pepper

Add 1 tbsp. olive oil to pan you will cook your beans in and add the sliced ham and cook slightly to flavor your beans

add water or chicken broth if you like ( I used water)

because there is a lot of flavor going on in that pan. add water to 4 inches above the beans and let cook on med to med lo heat until begins to tender. If your veggies are not chopped now is the time to do so. add 1 tbsp. oil to skillet and add chopped veggies and cook until almost tender and add to the beans and add all spices and cook on med low until everything is tender and you are ready to enjoy. I am adding fried cornbread to my meal tonight and a wedge of sweet onion and a big glass of sweet tea, after all I am from the south.

Please Like & Share    Follow me;  http://mwilliams6337.@wordpress.com

Web: https://www.facebook.com/groups/marywilliams

  •  Follow me  @mwilliams6337
  • <div class=”vl-sp-0b51751a20f0e57efaa8d13281ea4c33″/>
  •  Please like or comment to keep yummy recipes coming .
Leave a Reply

